SCCmec up to date
SCCmec subtypes
SCC Unifier


International Working Group on the Classification of Staphylococcal Cassette Chromosome (SCC) Elements (IWG-SCC)

The “International Working Group on the Classification of Staphylococcal Cassette Chromosome (SCC) Elements” (IWG-SCC) was organized to: 1) form an intellectual network to contribute to the study of SCC elements; 2) establish a consensus on a uniform nomenclature system for SCC elements; 3) define minimum requirements for the description of new SCC elements; and 4) establish guidelines for the identification of SCC elements for epidemiological study (i.e., SCCmec typing).

The members of IWG-SCC

Teruyo Ito (Juntendo University, Japan)

Keiichi Hiramatsu (Juntendo University, Japan)

Duarte C. Oliveira (CREM, Dep. Life Sciences, Faculdade de Ciências e Tecnologia and Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal)

Hermínia de Lencastre (The Rockefeller University, USA and Instituto de Tecnologia Química e Biológica, Oeiras, Portugal)

Kunyan Zhang (University of Calgary, Canada)

Robert L. Skov (Denmark)

Henrik Westh (Hvidovre Hospital, Denmark)

Frances O'Brien (Curtin University of Technology, Faculty of Health Sciences, School of Biomedical Sciences, Australia)

Philip M. Giffard (Menzies School of Health Research, Australia)

David Coleman (University of Dublin, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland )

Mark C. Enright (Imperial College, England)

Fred C. Tenover (Cepheid, USA)

Suzan Voyle-Vavra (University of Chicago, USA)

Barry Kreiswirth (Public Health Research Institute, USA)

Kwan Soo Ko (Sungkyunkwan University School of Medicine, Korea)

Hajo Grundmann (National Institute for Public Health and the Environment,Netherlands)

Frdric Laurent (Hopital de la Croix Rousse,France)

Johanna E Sollid (University of Tromsø, Norway)

Angela Kearns (Health Protection Agency, UK)

Richard Goering (Univ. Med. Ctr., USA)

Joseph F John, Ralph H(Johnson Medical Center, USA)

Robert Daum (University of Chicago, USA)

Bo Soderquist (Orebro University Hospital, Sweden).

Vincent Perreten (Institute of Veterinary Bacteriology University of Berne, Switzerland)

Matthew Holden (Pathogen Genomics, The Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, UK)